As part of activities to mark his one year in office, Lagos state Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu has approved the establishment of the State Cash Transfer Unit (SCTU) for the National Cash Transfer programme.

This was made public by the State Commissioner for Wealth Creation and Employment, Mrs. Yetunde Arobieke, while rendering an account of activities of her ministry during the period of her one year stay in office.

She disclosed that in some weeks’ time, the payment of the beneficiaries cleared in the first phase of the programme in the State’s Social Register (SU) would commence.

She also disclosed that N5,000 conditional cash transfer would be made for each cleared household in the first phase. According to her, the number of cleared beneficiaries from the SU of poor and vulnerable households, who are from six local governments and 40 wards are 8,147.

The commissioner said that the names of places where the already cleared beneficiaries were sampled from to be Amuwo Odofin, Apapa, Badagry, Epe, Ibeju Lekki and Lagos Island.

To ensure enrollment of beneficiaries, she said the Ministry in collaboration with the National Cash Transfer Office, Abuja had organised training for cash transfer facilitators from various local government areas in the state on data and biometric capturing.

Disclosing the plans of the government further, Mrs. Arobieke explained that the government will create job opportunities for youths through the establishment of industrial hubs.

She explained that the industrial hubs will target clusters in leather, wood and fish preservation with the intention to promote production of finished good.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here