The disqualification of Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo state from contesting the primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the September governorship election has been approved by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party.

This follows the acceptance of the report of the screening appeal committee set up by the party to look into the disqualification of Obaseki by an earlier committee.

The APC NWC is chaired by the national chairman of the party, Adams Oshiomhle who has been having running battle with Governor Obaseki over control of party leadership in the state.

According to Oshiomhole, the NWC, which reviewed the two reports, noted with satisfaction that members of the committees were unanimous in their decisions.

He said the NWC also approved the clearance of three aspirants, Osagie Ize-Iyamu, Osaro Obaze and Dr Pius Odubu to contest the primaries, adding that NWC also approved expulsion of one of the governorship aspirants, Matthew Iduoriyekemwen, and a party member, Kenneth Asakomeh, who is a Deputy State Chairman.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here