The Nigerian government has dismissed 10 Police officers while 8 others were demoted for various official misconduct.

According to the, Head of Press and Public Relations of Police Service Commission (PSC), Ikechukwu Ani who made the disclosure in Abuja, the affected officers were one Superintendent of Police (SP), five Deputy Superintendents of Police (DSP) and four Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP).
Those demoted were a Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP), a Chief Superintendent of Police (CSP), four Superintendents of Police (SP), and one Deputy Superintendent of Police and an Assistant Superintendent of Police.

He said the decision to sanction them was reached during the three-week deliberations at the 8th Plenary Meeting of the commission that ended on July 1.

“The commission also approved giving severe reprimand for 16 officers and reprimand for 13 officers as well as issuing letters of warning to four others.

“Two officers are to receive letters of advice while 11 others were exonerated.

“The commission in plenary looked into 83 disciplinary cases which included eighteen appeals and petitions,” he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here