The candidate of Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde and former deputy governor of the State, Taofeek Arapaja, has emerged the new zonal chairman of the South-West Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

He polled polled 343 votes to defeat the former occupant of that position, Eddy Olafeso, who was the candidate of former Governor Ayo Fayose of Ekiti State.

The result of the keenly contested election, was announced by the chairman of congress, Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State, who was represented by his deputy, Benson Abounu,.

Earlier on Monday, Governor Makinde and Fayose promised to work with whoever emerges winner as the chairman of the party in the zone.

The former zonal chairman, Eddy Olafeso has conceded defeat, promising to work with the Arapaja to reposition the party in the South-West.

He said: “The storm is over, there is a new beginning for our party. We have to thank God Almighty that despite odds, there is a new beginning for our party. The time is now. I thank everybody who supported me.”

Also speaking, the new zonal chairman Arapaja, lauded his co-contestant and thanked Governor Makinde and former Governor Fayose for their roles in the party.

Arapaja said: “We thank Governor Seyi Makinde and former Governor Fayose. It’s our party. We will work together and move the party forward. We want to reposition the party. I will work with my brother Olafeso to achieve our aims.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here