The Nigerian government has announced a temporary ban on non-Nigerian passengers who have been in Brazil, India or Turkey within 14 days of intended arrival into Nigeria.

The action was taken in response to the upward surge of COVID-19 virus in the mentioned countries.

Boss Mustapha, the chairman of the Presidential Steering Committee (PSC) on COVID-19, stated this today, Sunday, in a message sent to African Community News, adding that the travel ban does not apply to passengers who only transited through these countries that have been experiencing a surge in COVID-19 cases in the past week.

He said the new travel advisory shall come into effect from May 4 and shall be subject to review after an initial period of 4 weeks.

“Guidelines Specific to Brazil, India and Turkey; Non-Nigerian passport holders and non-residents who visited Brazil, India or Turkey within Fourteen (14) days preceding travel to Nigeria, shall be denied entry into Nigeria,” he said.

India has had more COVID-19 cases in the last seven days than anywhere else in the world, Reuters reported.

Indian hospitals, morgues and crematoriums have been overwhelmed as the country has reported more than 300,000 daily cases for more than 10 days straight. Many families have been left on their own to scramble for medicines and oxygen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here